Via Dolorosa – Jerusalem

Via Dolorosa (Latin for the Way of the Suffering), is a two part street in the Old City of Jerusalem that marks the way Jesus walked while carrying his cross towards his crucifixion. It is marked by nine stations of the cross, with the rest inside the Church of the Holy Sepulchre. The third photo shows the Church of the Condemnation and Imposition of the Cross (where Christ was sentenced to death by Pontius Pilate). The  second photo shows the Church of the Flagellation, where Christ was flogged by Roman soldiers. At the start of Via Dolorosa is also the supposed birthplace of the Virgin Mary (last photo).


~ by jonathanmtsai on October 15, 2010.

One Response to “Via Dolorosa – Jerusalem”

  1. […] of pilgrims reenact the Passion of the Christ (Stations of the Cross – see below), on the Via Dolorosa, through the Old City by weeping and carrying huge crosses while the walk the […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: