Jerusalem Bus Station Blast

I was visiting the Church of St Peter (see below) when a bomb exploded in front of the Central Bus Station in Jerusalem, killing one woman and injuring 30-40 others. I had gotten off a bus from Rehovot at the station an hour earlier and luckily decided not to start a transfection (sorry Wolfgang) that would have put me on a later bus. While I was in the dungeon (don’t worry, again see below) I received a dozen calls and texts (come to think of it it’s amazing I had reception down there) asking where I was. (I told them I was in a dungeon).

It’s been about 4-5 years before something like this has happened in Jerusalem and it just goes to show that the situation here is probably going to get worse before it gets better. Although it hasn’t been well reported on by the media, Israel and Gaza have been exchanging violence over the past couple of weeks with Israel leading air strikes on Hamas’s military centers in Gaza and the Hamas sending missiles into Be’er Sheva, Ashdod, and Ashkelon. Rumors of a cease fire have risen but who knows what will happen.

The main goal of my Fulbright here is not just to work on a research project but also to learn about Israel and Israeli culture. With that in mind it’s expected that I will leave with a better understanding of the Israeli side of things and have already formed my own opinions about the conflict, but I’d rather my blog stay neutral with pretty, pretty pictures (and boring, boring history). I think you should just know that nothing is black and white and there are extremists on both sides. And I just hope that an attack like this, on Jerusalem, the cornerstone of this conflict and a city sacred to both sides and so many peoples, will be a catalyst for some sort of change for good. With that said I still think Israel is an amazing place that everyone should visit at least once. Especially, especially Jerusalem.

Also these photos are of the bus station, but weren’t taken at any time near the explosion.

~ by jonathanmtsai on March 26, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
